We've moved! The Center for Hope is now located at 5400 Preakness Way, Baltimore MD, 21215. Reach us at 410-601-HOPE.

Mandated Reporter Training

Mandated Reporters are Maryland’s children first line of defense in recognizing, responding, and reporting abuse and neglect. Therefore it is essential that all mandated reporters in the state of Maryland know what their duty is, and how to protect the children in their care.

New law alert: As of October 1, 2019 there are now criminal penalties if a mandated reporter knowingly fails to report child abuse: up to 3 year misdemeanor and up to $10,000. Read the new law here. And remember: as always, the law requires you to report OUT to Child Protective Services or law enforcement and then UP to your supervisor.

Want to learn more about being a mandated reporter? Visit BCAC’s Online Training Institute and take our online Mandated Reporter training, or contact us and have one of BCAC trainers come to your agency and work directly with you and your staff. Participants will gain an understanding of relevant state laws, requirements for reporting, and the signs and symptoms of abuse and neglect. This workshop provides participants with reasons to report and information on how to report, and explores the long-term impact of abuse on children.

Maryland's resource for mandated reporters